Meknes was closed in December 1996 Universal Heritage of Humanity by the Inter-Governmental Commission for the UNESCO. .
It is one of the four imperial cities of Morocco. Under the reign of Moulay Ismail (1672 - 1727) it underwent a period of great prosperity and what remains of this era of greatness and of previous eras of this city is an important step in any journey in Morocco. Moulay Ismail Meknes chooses as its capital for reasons that are both strategic, political and geographical factors. In addition to its architectural obvious even for the tourist warned least, the Kasbah of Meknes singular importance of the fact that this is the first great work of the Alaouite dynasty, dynasty reigning in Morocco for more than 300 years.

The city of Meknes was founded in the tenth century by the tribe Zénète Meknassa originating in the eastern venue set in the region attracted by soil fertility, abundance of water and the charm of these gardens. Some of the tribes also founded the city of Taza. Before it was built, there was a series of villages without walls, which coexisted peacefully in a farming traditions Berber.

In the thirteenth century, under the reign of Merinids many monuments will be built by Abu Yousef and Abu El Hassan. Under the Merinids that Meknes become truly a city Hispano Maghreb.

After the death of Moulay Ismail in 1727, his son Moulay Abdellah, continued and completed a major portion of the work undertaken by his father. Meknes enriched by several monuments under the reign of Sidi Mohammed ben Abdellah (1757 - 1790): he built mosques, mausoleums and the palace of Dar Beîda, currently occupied by the Royal Military Academy. The Alawites have continued to this day to be kings builders, and the Kasbah of Meknes came in a particular significance.

Currently Meknes includes an old city and a modern city separated by the valley of Wadi Boufekrane. In the new town you can enjoy a beautiful view of the medina with its numerous minarets, its ramparts and its imperial city.

Meknès a été classée en décembre 1996 Patrimoine Universel de l'Humanité par la Commission Inter-Gouvernementale de de L'U.N.E.S.CO. .
Elle est l'une des quatre villes impériales du Maroc. Sous la règne de Moulay Ismaïl (1672 - 1727) elle connut une période de grande prospérité et ce qui subsiste de cette ère de grandeur et des ères précédentes fait de cette ville une étape importante de tout voyage au Maroc. Moulay Ismaïl choisit Meknes comme capitale pour des raisons à la fois stratégiques, politiques et géographiques. Outre son intérêt architectural évident même pour le touriste le moins averti, la Kasbah de Meknes revêt une importance singulière du fait qu'il s'agit là de la première grande oeuvre de la dynastie des Alaouites, dynastie qui règne au Maroc depuis maintenant plus de 300 ans.

La ville de Meknes a été fondée au Xème siècle par la tribu Zénète Meknassa originaire de l'orientale, venue se fixer dans la région attirée par la fertilité du sol, l'abondance des eaux et le charme des ces jardins. Une partie de cette tribus a fondé également la ville de Taza. Avant son édification, il n'y avait qu'une série de bourgades sans remparts, qui coexistaient paisiblement dans une vie agricole de traditions berbères.

Au XIIIème siècle, sous la règne des Mérinides de nombreux monuments seront édifiés par Abou Youssef et Abou El Hassan. C'est sous les Mérinides que Meknes deviendra véritablement une cité hispano maghrébine .

Après la mort de Moulay Ismaïl en 1727, son fils Moulay Abdellah, continua et acheva une partie des travaux entrepris par son père. Meknes s'enrichit de plusieurs monuments sous la règne de Sidi Mohammed ben Abdellah (1757 - 1790) : il fit construire des mosquées, des mausolées et le palais de Dar Beîda, occupé actuellement par l'Académie Royale Militaire. Les Alaouites n'ont cessé, jusqu'à ce jour, d'être des rois bâtisseurs, et la Kasbah de Meknes prend donc une valeur particulièrement significative.

Actuellement Meknes comprend une ville ancienne et une ville moderne séparées par le vallon de l'oued Boufekrane. De la ville nouvelle on peut jouir d'une très belle vue d'ensemble sur la médina avec ses nombreux minarets, ses remparts et sa cité impériale.